Karmic Balance

The young man was sullen. It seemed every attempt he had at making a good life was foiled.

Day after day, bad things would happen and he would take it on the nose.

It was something he was used to.

He wondered how much longer he could endure hit after hit until he broke.

One day something snapped in him and he decided he was no longer going to be a slave to his circumstances.

He would clean up his act once and for all and redeem himself.

When he decided that at that moment, unbeknownst to him, hell was unleashed upon him.

His life got so dramatically worse he pondered taking his own life to finally escape the wheel of suffering.

Realizing that it wasn’t the answer, he endured some more.

Shrouded in ultimate darkness, not even a beacon of hope.

Sooner or later, a ray of light shined through the clouds. He had already undergone the worst and couldn’t see it getting any worse!

He said “I’m just going to accept this.”

So he practiced accepting.

When he accepted all the bad things going on around him, the bad things started turning into good things.

He was no longer a victim of his circumstances.

He detached from the outcomes of life and found that life was positively enjoyable if you allow it to be. He was the one creating all of his problems all along and was never a victim.

Now, in some strange way, he was thankful for all the things he experienced because his life became enjoyable as a result of the pain he endured.

If he would have surrendered defeat in the eye of the storm, he would have never got to see the calm.

What a cruel yet kind mistress life is.

Author: artisticapathy

Since I was in grade school I’ve loved to create. I wrote and illustrated whole worlds since I was able. When I was a little older I directed home movies with my friends. It’s safe to say I’ve always had a thing for the arts. It’s something that’s as much me as my physical makeup. This blog was a re-commitment to that self. Here I can be expressive, provocative, enlightening, whatever. I love to write.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started