Magic

Magic… does it truly exist in this world? We see magic in the movies, on TV, we might even feel magical when we listen to certain kinds of music. We have holidays and parties where we dress up and pretend to be something we’re not. I think many people have a longing to escape.

For two hours I am watching a movie so captivating, so colorful, so whimsical and delightful that for that time I am transported into that world. I’m escaping for that little bit of time. The glare of the television screen acts as a window. A portal of sorts.

I connect with the characters. I feel for them. I feel the music deep within my bones. I get chills up my spine.

Afterwards it’s over and I’m left wanting more. Why can’t life be more like this, I wonder. Why can’t magic be real? Why can’t we go on adventures everyday?

The thing is… magic is real. Depending on your definition. The ability to suck me into a fictitious world and tie me to events happening in this world is a form of magic. When the right song comes on at the right time is a form of magic for me. The “magic” I’m talking about extends even farther than that. Miracles happen everyday. Ones we are blind too.

This is a frame of mind I’d like to keep as we go through these troubling times. I hope all of you stay safe out there but most of all, stay positive.

Author: artisticapathy

Since I was in grade school I’ve loved to create. I wrote and illustrated whole worlds since I was able. When I was a little older I directed home movies with my friends. It’s safe to say I’ve always had a thing for the arts. It’s something that’s as much me as my physical makeup. This blog was a re-commitment to that self. Here I can be expressive, provocative, enlightening, whatever. I love to write.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started